congressional trash


Waste News comments on what the midterms mean in terms of trash: 

New Senate committee leadership picture starts to take shape
By Bruce Geiselman

Nov. 20 — Senate Democrats have named their leadership for the Environment and Public Works Committee and its subcommittees beginning next year. However, a struggle may lie ahead among Republicans, who will become the minority party.

The Senate Democratic Caucus named Barbara Boxer, D-Calif., as the new chairman of the environment committee.

However, John Warner, R-Va., said he wants to become the committee´s ranking member instead of outgoing committee Chairman James Inhofe, R-Okla. Warner issued a statement saying he is the senior Republican on the panel, having served on the committee since January 1987.

“As the senior Republican on the Senate EPW Committee, I intend to submit my name for election as the ranking minority member of that panel,” Warner said. “I will do so in recognition of established Senate Republican conference rules and precedents.”

Warner had been chairman of the Senate Armed Services Committee, but will have to relinquish his leadership role on the committee because of a six-year term limit established by Republican rules. That may have prompted his decision to seek a leadership role on the environment committee.

Meanwhile, Inhofe intends to fight for the right to head up the Republicans on the environment committee. “I have been a long friend of John Warner,” Inhofe said. “However, I think he has a misunderstanding of the rules. I intend to retain my leadership position in the 110th Congress, returning as the ranking member of the EPW committee.”

Warner is viewed as more moderate on environmental and climate change issues than Inhofe, who has argued that global warming is a hoax.

Boxer has said that as committee chairman, she intends to make global warming legislation one of her top priorities.

Republicans on the environment committee will vote to select the ranking member, but the full Republican Conference must ratify their decision.

While the Republicans have yet to select their committee leader, Boxer has named the chairs of the various subcommittees.

►Boxer will serve as chairman of the Subcommittee on Public Sector Solutions to Global Warming, Oversight, Children´s Health Protection and Nuclear Safety.

►Max Baucus, D-Mont., will chair the Subcommittee on Transportation and Infrastructure.

►Joseph Lieberman, I-Conn., will chair the Subcommittee on Private Sector and Consumer Solutions to Global Warming and Wildlife Protection.

►Tom Carper, D-Del., will chair the Subcommittee on Clean Air, Nuclear Plant Security and Community Development.

►Hillary Rodham Clinton, D-N.Y., will chair the Subcommittee on Superfund and Environmental Health.

►Frank Lautenberg, D-N.J., will chair the Subcommittee on Transportation Safety, Infrastructure Security and Water Quality.

Entire contents copyright 2006 by Crain Communications Inc. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: